The town is of medieval origin: it is found in a privilege of Emperor Otto IV in favor of the abbey of Monte Amiata, signed in 1210.
In the country is worth visiting the church of Saints Peter and Paul, built in medieval times, which preserves valuable works of art from various periods. Unique and unusual is the location of the lintel of the portal, sharply inclined to the right due to a subsidence of the land. Nearby is the Oratory of the Holy Cross, with beautiful bell tower, which now houses the Museum of Roccalbegna. To the south it is still well preserved Porta della Maremma. Just outside of it is the fifteenth-century church of the Madonna del Soccorso.
The country also retains some civilian buildings, including the Palazzo Bichi-Ruspoli that comes in rusticated, and the wall remains of the defensive system, one door, sections of walls and some towers are still visible. But the peculiar characteristic of Roccalbegna are the two spikes of rock above it. On higher, commonly called by the inhabitants “the rock”, is mainly used as a keep a lookout, probably built in the early thirteenth century by the Aldobrandeschi. The position eyrie gives charm to this fort, which from a military point of view overlaid unimportant. The “stone” in the centuries has caused concern in the inhabitants of the country due to stability issues and rock detachments that, because of the position swooped on houses below