At the northeastern side of poggio di Montieri, stands the Church complex of the Rectory of San Niccolò, comprising a series of buildings.
The site is known from documents written starting from 1133 but excavation, still in progress, demonstrated the existence of a church dating back to an earlier period. In the 12th century, the complex underwent a major restructuring with the construction of a church in “esapetala” plant (which is equipped with six apses, unique example in Tuscany) and some buildings built around a central space. It is also at this time that was build a large industrial area in the northern part. In the 13th century the complex underwent slight changes with the construction of some rooms and a courtyard in the middle. The entire complex was abandoned at the end of the 13th century.